Cold Storage by David Koepp #BlogTour

September 19, 2019
no-book-cover-available
Author:
Publisher:

For readers of Andy Weir and Noah Hawley comes an astonishing debut by the screenwriter of Jurassic Park: a wild and terrifying adventure about three strangers who must work together to contain a highly contagious, deadly organism

When Pentagon bioterror operative Roberto Diaz was sent to investigate a suspected biochemical attack, he found something far worse: a highly mutative organism capable of extinction-level destruction. He contained it and buried it in cold storage deep beneath a little-used military repository.

Now, after decades of festering in a forgotten sub-basement, the specimen has found its way out and is on a lethal feeding frenzy. Only Diaz knows how to stop it.

He races across the country to help two unwitting security guards—one an ex-con, the other a single mother. Over one harrowing night, the unlikely trio must figure out how to quarantine this horror again. All they have is luck, fearlessness, and a mordant sense of humor. Will that be enough to save all of humanity?

My Review

Thanks to Lily at HQ for my stunning copy of this new blockbuster type, end of the world thriller by Hollywood screenwriter David Koepp, Cold Storage  (thanks for the popcorn to!)

Where to start with this one! Probably not something I would usually read, but what a cracking read this is, Its fun, witty, scary, totally unbelievable, leave your brain on the side and just enjoy a rip-roaring bit of sci-fi.

Clearly not an author to take things to seriously, David Koepp has created a highly entertaining, super quick story that reads like your watching a hollywood blockbuster.

When a Virulent strain of Fungus is found in the Australian outback, wiping out a small town, Roberto Diaz, a Bio-Terror expert who deals with all that kind of stuff, goes in and cleans up, capturing the strain, which is then locked away deep underground, at temperatures so cold nothing could breed again.

Fast forward to the present day and with the storage unit long forgotten, and the world's temperature heating up, there is a problem, the feisty angry little fungus is starting to grow...with a storage company now using the site for containers, it comes down to the now retired Roberto to team up with a bumbling pair of security guards in 'Teacake' and Naomi, to fight not only this multiplying strain of doom, but against the occupants and workers on site that's its beginning to inhabit as it mutates...

Seriously fun, forget the real world and lap up this frantic, infectious 😉 piece of fiction.

Highly Recommended

4 🔥🔥🔥🔥

 

David Koepp is a celebrated American screenwriter and director best known for his work on Jurassic Park, Spider-Man, Panic Room, War of the Worlds and Mission: Impossible. His work on screen has grossed over $6 billion worldwide.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this review: