Tainted by David Evans (DI Colin Strong 4) #BlogTour

February 12, 2019

A botched attempt to extort money has tragic consequences.

An embarrassing DNA match to an unsolved rape and murder twenty years before means DI Colin Strong has to use his best diplomatic tactics.

Simultaneously, journalist Bob Souter is tasked with writing about that same case to re-focus public attention. Will the newspaper’s actions help or hinder the police?

Meanwhile, Strong’s team has two separate murder enquiries to run.

With their friendship under duress, will Souter and Strong be able to work together? Find out in TAINTED – book 4 in the acclaimed Wakefield Series!


Set in Wakefield and Leeds in 2002, DI Colin Strong , his DS Kelly Stainmore and his team investigates a murder when a Man’s body is found in a public toilet in very suspicious circumstances, whilst also looking into a cold case , going back 20 years, the murder of a 14 year old girl, who’s body is found on a railway, investigations lead to DNA on the body linked to a current young police officer.

There are also some affairs , extortion and kidnap going on along with the murder to keep you interested.

Alongside the police investigation, Bob Souter. A journalist with a heavily pregnant wife is also looking into the old murder for a 20th anniversary story ,it’s quite interesting to get another point of view and not just the usual police side of things.

This is an old school police procedural
Which really goes into the ins and outs of police practices

With decent believable characters, this book is well written with almost a mesmerising flow to the authors words

There is lots of talk about previous events from early books which I’ve not read but feel I can read this perfectly well as a stand-alone.

It’s easy to read, with lots of attention to detail especially when describing the police work whilst never becoming confusing

The finale is well done, tense and comes at you quickly , tying up all the loose ends and leaving a bit of a cliff hanger for the next in the series.

It was a quick, easy to pick up book. I would happily read more of David Evans

It feels reminiscent of watching Frost or Morse on the tv, glowing praise , If you love traditional detective mysteries, this book is a great read and right up your alley

David Evans is a Scots-born writer who found his true love as well as his inspiration for his detective series, in Wakefield. Having written all his life, in 2012 he decided to go for it – successfully as the next year, in 2013, he was shortlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger Award.

The Wakefield Series became an International Bestseller in June 2017 with success in Canada and Australia as well as the UK.

Early 2018 Disposal was published, the first book in the Tendring Series, a new detective series, set in north Essex in the 1970s.

Now, the first three books in the Wakefield series have been republished by Orchard View Publications with brand new covers – Orchard View Publications also publishes the fourth book in the series, TAINTED.

David Evans on Social Media

Author Website: http://www.davidevanswriter.co.uk/
Amazon Author Page: author.to/DavidEvans
Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/davidevanswriter/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/DavidEwriter

Books by David Evans

The Wakefield Series
#1 TORMENT Getbook.at/Torment
#2 TROPHIES Getbook.at/Trophies
#3 TALISMAN Getbook.at/Talisman
#4 TAINTED Getbook.at/Tainted-DavidEvans

The Tendring Series
#1 DISPOSAL Getbook.at/Disposal

My Review Copy was Kindly provided by Caroline Vincent from Bits About Books @CarolineBookBit for an impartial honest review.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this review: