The Quiet Ones by Theresa Talbot #BlogTour

September 22, 2019
no-book-cover-available
Publisher:

If only someone had listened...When the supposed suicide of famous Scottish football coach Harry Nugent hits the headlines, the tabloids are filled with tributes to a charitable pillar of the community that gave so much back to sport and to those less fortunate.But something isn't right. Normally celebrities are queuing up to claim to have had a very special relationship with the deceased, but investigative journalist Oonagh O'Neil is getting the distinct impression that people are trying to distance themselves from Harry.Oonagh's investigation leads her to uncover a heartbreakingly haunting cover-up that chills her to the core... and places her in mortal danger from those willing to protect their sadistic and dark secrets at any cost...Perfect for fans of Patricia Gibney, Angela Marsons and Cara Hunter

My Review

Firstly Thanks to Vicky at Aria for my e-arc of the new dark thriller from Theresa Talbot, The Quiet Ones

This is my first read by this author, and to start I didn't realise I was reading the 3rd in a series, so straight away, this is very easy to read as a standalone, though by the end, if as like me this is your first, I can only imagine you will want more of investigative reporter Oonagh O'Neil.

When a rich, football coach and now businessman, Harry Nugent is found in an apparent suicide, It's soon discovered there is not only more to his death, He was in fact murdered, there is much more to the man himself... and its nothing good.

With no one wanting to talk, rumours soon surface about Harry's foul predilection for the young boys he was coaching.

A cold, dark story of corruption in high places, disgraceful men and women of power abusing their positions for their vile gain. This is a disturbing and at times grim tale

Written as Oonagh investigates, it's also interspersed with DI Alec Davies's investigation, and back to 1983 where young Tommy's story is told, he being one of Harry's early victims.

Oonagh is a character I took to almost straight away, a strong character with a need to make things right, she doesn't let up in her pursuit of justice and I like both the character in DI Alec Davies and the relationship they have.

This is really quite a current thriller, paced perfectly throughout and a cracking finale.

With stories coming out now in real life from footballers who had their dreams shattered by these despicable men, this book shocks and pulls no punches.

A tragic yet compelling tale, this is an excellent chilling thriller.

Highly recommended

4🔥🔥🔥🔥

 

Theresa Talbot is a freelance writer, journalist and radio presenter, perhaps best known as the voice of Traffic and Travel on BBC Radio Scotland and as the host of The Beechgrove Potting Shed. Prior to working with the BBC she was with Radio Clyde and the AA Roadwatch team. Theresa worked in various roles before entering the media as an assistant in children's homes, a Pepsi Challenge girl and a library assistant. She ended up at the BBC because of an eavesdropped conversation on a no.66 bus in Glasgow. Her passions include rescuing chickens, gardening, music and yoga

Facebook: @TheresaTalbotBooks

Twitter: @Theresa_Talbot

Buy links

Amazon

Kobo:

iBooks

Google Play

 www.ariafiction.com

Twitter: @aria_fiction

Facebook: @ariafiction

Instagram: @ariafiction

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this review: