Seventh by Lewis Hastings (The Seventh Wave Book 1)
Books / August 19, 2019

  Firstly my thanks to the Author, who goes by the pseudonym of Lewis Hastings, for my gifted copy of the first in his Seventh Wave Trilogy , Seventh. In this first book, we are introduced to John ‘Jack’ Cade, a seemingly off grid, ex British Police Officer amongst other things, now living the quiet life in New Zealand. Inexplicably drawn back in to his old life by Elena, a mysterious Bulgarian visitor,  who turns up seeking Jack out. A story ensues that takes us back to Jack’s earlier life and career, via Hong Kong and Nottingham on to the streets of London, as Jack battles with an Eastern European Crime Syndicate deeply rooted in financial crime and far ahead of its time , headed up by the evil ‘Jackdaw’ Whilst opening with a slower pace, Lewis Hastings soon launches us into a fast paced, riotous and chaotic tale, as Jack takes no prisoners in his quest, to both serve and protect. Introducing some fantastic characters, Carrie O’Shea and Jason Roberts in particular, Hastings writes both likeable but equally flawed characters, his characters feel very human, especially Jack himself – there is one character I hope to read again after his…

Singapore Ghost by Murray Bailey (Ash Carter 4)
Books / July 29, 2019

  Ash Carter is in Penang on a job that seems beneath him: babysit a newspaper reporter. She’s investigating ghost stories at the barracks but it’s Carter’s past that is back to haunt him. Returning to Singapore he finds himself caught up with a Chinese Secret Society. It’s not Andrew Yipp’s and Carter finds himself beholden to the leader, Chen Guan Xi. Chen wants to remove his big rival without a turf war and he wants Carter to do it for him. However Yipp and Carter have so far had a good relationship. But when investigations on behalf of the gorgeous Su Ling uncover Yipp’s wicked actions, Carter’s attitude changes. Stuck between the two criminal organisations, Ash Carter must find a solution and put the ghosts to rest. My Review Thanks go to Murray Bailey, for both my ARC and a signed copy of Singapore Ghost to giveaway! Please check me out @red_bristol where I’m running the giveaway until July 31st.   This is the 4th in the “Singapore” series starring ex military policeman and, sometime prize-fighter, Ash Carter. Called to an army barracks, Ash is assisting and at times babysitting a reporter who is looking into an apparent curse…

The Spy Who Swapped Shoes by Geoffrey Davison
Books / July 26, 2019

    Thanks to Sapere Books for my review copy of Geoffrey Davison’s, The Spy Who Swapped Shoes, the first of his Espionage thrillers starring the infallible Stephen Fletcher. Starting out in Eastern Europe at the time of the Cold War, Stephen Fletcher is a British spy who is tasked with becoming Comrade Nikovitch, with the intention of infiltrating a Russian camp designed to train Russian agents to live in England and befriend important people and politicians. This is a very strongly plotted espionage thriller, full of spy’s and double agents, it’s an intriguing tale, that doesn’t let up and it has a real old school feel, reminiscent of John Le Carré. A fast paced, sharply plotted complex espionage thriller, it’s a quick, enjoyable and exciting read If you enjoy your war-time spy thrillers, this really is a cracking little read. I’ll definitely be reading the rest of the series. 4🔥🔥🔥🔥

The Danger of Life by Ken Lussey #BlogTour
Books / June 17, 2019

  It is late 1942. Group Captain Robert Sutherland’s first week in charge of Military Intelligence 11’s operations in Scotland and northern England is not going smoothly. A murder at the Commando Basic Training Centre in the Highlands is being investigated by one of his teams, until events take an even darker turn that draws Bob in personally. He is also trying to discover who was behind an attempt to steal an advanced reconnaissance aircraft from a military airfield in Fife, an investigation made no easier by the perpetrator’s death. The complication he could really live without comes via a telephone call from Monique Dubois in MI5. An operation she’s been running in Glasgow, without Bob or anyone else knowing, has gone badly wrong, and she wants him to intervene before it is entirely compromised. The Danger of Life is a fast-paced thriller set in Scotland during the Second World War. It is Ken’s second novel to feature Bob Sutherland and Monique Dubois and picks up not long after the end of his first, Eyes Turned Skywards. The action moves back and forth across Scotland, with much of it set in Lochaber, where the present war intersects with another conflict…

The Serpent’s Mark by S.W. Perry #BlogTour
Books / June 17, 2019

  A smart and gripping tale of conspiracy, murder and espionage in Elizabethan London, ideal for fans of CJ Sansom, Rory Clements and SG MacLean. Treason sleeps for no man… London, 1591. Nicholas Shelby, physician and reluctant spy, returns to his old haunts on London’s lawless Bankside. But, when the queen’s spymaster Robert Cecil asks him to investigate the dubious practices of a mysterious doctor from Switzerland, Nicholas is soon embroiled in a conspiracy that threatens not just the life of an innocent young patient, but the overthrow of Queen Elizabeth herself. With fellow healer and mistress of the Jackdaw tavern, Bianca Merton, again at his side, Nicholas is drawn into a dangerous world of zealots, charlatans and fanatics. As their own lives become increasingly at risk, they find themselves confronting the greatest treason of all: the spectre of a bloody war between the faiths… “No-one is better than S. W. Perry at leading us through the squalid streets of London in the sixteenth century.” – Andrew Swanston “The writing is of such a quality, the characters so engaging and the setting so persuasive that, only two books in, S.W. Perry’s ingeniously plotted novels have become my favourite historical crime series.”…