American Dreams by Kenneth Bromberg #BlogTour
Books / July 31, 2019

In 1904 Czarist Russia, Max, a four-year-old Jewish boy, witnesses his mother’s rape and murder by Russian soldiers. After the boy’s father extracts terrible revenge, father and son escape to New York and settle on the Lower East Side, a teeming melting pot of recent immigrants. Max meets a young Polish girl, Sophie, and the two children become inseparable playmates. By the time they are teenagers, Max excels at both school and sports, Sophie has become a stunningly beautiful young woman, and friendship has grown into love. Their plans are shattered when Sophie is forced to marry a local crime boss and once again, Max must simply watch as the most important person in his life is taken from him. In response, he begins a ruthless and violent climb to the top of the New York underworld. My Review Thanks to Anne Cater at Random things Tours and Flame Tree Press for my ARC of the debut novel by Kenneth Bromberg, American Dreams. Beginning in 1904 when 4 year old max witnesses the brutal rape and murder of his mother in Czarist Russia, This a tale that spans generations as Kenneth Bromberg weaves a masterful tale of early 20th century…

Heartman by M.P.Wright (J.T. Ellington 1) #BristolBooks
Books / July 26, 2019

Heartman is the first in a series of reviews I’m going to do featuring Bristol based characters or authors, related to my beautiful home City… Could I have picked anything better to start this series of reviews? The resounding answer is NO! Heartman is the first book in a 4 book series, the very recently released, The Sinner’s Prayer, the last. This first story is based in 1960’s Bristol, starring a crafty old fox of a detective in Bajan , J.T.Ellington, not long arrived from the island of Barbados, he’s left his home island following a tragedy with his wife and daughter, he’s now looking to start a new life. M.P. Wright spins a mesmerizing tale, employed by a pillar of the local black community, J.T sets about looking for a missing mute girl. An absolutely intriguing, fascinating and brilliant story ensues as M.P.Wright and J.T. Ellington take us into the dark side of Bristol, the pubs ,the clubs, the shebeens, the whore houses and more. J.T is a stubborn , wily, crafty, clever , intelligent beast, assisted by his not so law-abiding but equally persistent cousin Vic, he takes no prisoners in his quest to both solve the crime…

The Danger of Life by Ken Lussey #BlogTour
Books / June 17, 2019

  It is late 1942. Group Captain Robert Sutherland’s first week in charge of Military Intelligence 11’s operations in Scotland and northern England is not going smoothly. A murder at the Commando Basic Training Centre in the Highlands is being investigated by one of his teams, until events take an even darker turn that draws Bob in personally. He is also trying to discover who was behind an attempt to steal an advanced reconnaissance aircraft from a military airfield in Fife, an investigation made no easier by the perpetrator’s death. The complication he could really live without comes via a telephone call from Monique Dubois in MI5. An operation she’s been running in Glasgow, without Bob or anyone else knowing, has gone badly wrong, and she wants him to intervene before it is entirely compromised. The Danger of Life is a fast-paced thriller set in Scotland during the Second World War. It is Ken’s second novel to feature Bob Sutherland and Monique Dubois and picks up not long after the end of his first, Eyes Turned Skywards. The action moves back and forth across Scotland, with much of it set in Lochaber, where the present war intersects with another conflict…

The Serpent’s Mark by S.W. Perry #BlogTour
Books / June 17, 2019

  A smart and gripping tale of conspiracy, murder and espionage in Elizabethan London, ideal for fans of CJ Sansom, Rory Clements and SG MacLean. Treason sleeps for no man… London, 1591. Nicholas Shelby, physician and reluctant spy, returns to his old haunts on London’s lawless Bankside. But, when the queen’s spymaster Robert Cecil asks him to investigate the dubious practices of a mysterious doctor from Switzerland, Nicholas is soon embroiled in a conspiracy that threatens not just the life of an innocent young patient, but the overthrow of Queen Elizabeth herself. With fellow healer and mistress of the Jackdaw tavern, Bianca Merton, again at his side, Nicholas is drawn into a dangerous world of zealots, charlatans and fanatics. As their own lives become increasingly at risk, they find themselves confronting the greatest treason of all: the spectre of a bloody war between the faiths… “No-one is better than S. W. Perry at leading us through the squalid streets of London in the sixteenth century.” – Andrew Swanston “The writing is of such a quality, the characters so engaging and the setting so persuasive that, only two books in, S.W. Perry’s ingeniously plotted novels have become my favourite historical crime series.”…

Wolves at the Door by Gunnar Staalesen (Varg Veum)
Books / June 10, 2019

        ‘Gunnar Staalesen is one of my very favourite Scandinavian authors…this is a series with very sharp teeth’ Ian Rankin  ‘A Norwegian Chandler’ Jo Nesbo  ‘With its exploration of family dynamics and the complex web of human behaviour, Staalesen’s novel echoes the great California author Ross MacDonald’s Lew Archer mysteries … mature and captivating’ Herald Scotland ‘Norwegian master Staalesen is an author who eschews police procedural narratives for noirish private eye pieces … with some abrasive social commentary’ Financial Times     THE BOOK  One dark January night a car drives at high speed towards PI Varg Veum, and comes very close to killing him. Veum is certain this is no accident, following so soon after the deaths of two jailed men who were convicted for their participation in a case of child pornography and sexual assault … crimes that Veum himself once stood wrongly accused of committing. While the guilty men were apparently killed accidentally, Varg suspects that there is something more sinister at play … and that he’s on the death list of someone still at large. Fearing for his life, Veum begins to investigate the old case, interviewing the victims of abuse and delving…