Gone by Leona Deakin #BlogTour
Books / August 12, 2019

  Four strangers are missing. Left at their last-known locations are birthday cards that read: YOUR GIFT IS THE GAME DARE TO PLAY? The police aren’t worried – it’s just a game. But the families are frantic, and psychologist and private detective Dr Augusta Bloom is persuaded to investigate. As she delves into the lives of the missing people, she finds something that binds them all. And that something makes them very dangerous indeed. As more disappearances are reported and new birthday cards uncovered, Dr Bloom races to unravel the mystery and find the puppeteer. But is she playing into their hands? An addictive debut thriller with an ingenious hook that turns the missing person plot on its head – what if the missing people are the dangerous ones? MY REVIEW Thanks to Anne Cater at Random Things Tours and Transworld books for my copy of the debut by Leona Deakin, Gone. Introducing Dr Augusta Bloom and her business partner Marcus Jameson in a chilling psychological thriller. What starts out as a missing person case, when Marcus is asked by his sister to look into her friends strange disappearance suddenly becomes something much more with the discovery of a game…

Riverflow by Alison Layland #BlogTour
Books / July 22, 2019

After a beloved family member is drowned in a devastating flood, Bede and Elin Sherwell want nothing more than to be left in peace to pursue their off-grid life. But when the very real prospect of fracking hits their village, they are drawn in to the frontline protests. During a spring of relentless rain, a series of mysterious threats and suspicious accidents put friendships on the line and the Sherwells’ marriage under unbearable tension. Is there a connection with their uncle’s death? As the river rises under torrential rain, pressure mounts, Bede’s sense of self begins to crumble and Elin is no longer sure who to believe or what to believe in. Thanks to Emma at damp pebbles tours and Honno Press for my copy and invite to the blog tour for this terrific new thriller from Alison Layland, Riverflow, Today I’ve got a bit of Q and A with Alison Layland for you.. First of all, can you please tell us about your latest book: Riverflow is a novel of village tensions, environmental protests and family secrets, played out against a background of fracking and floods on the river Severn. Where do you find inspiration for your novels? My characters…

Keep Her Close by Erik Therme #BlogTour
Books / June 19, 2019

Then: Three-year-old Ally was found alone in a parking lot. She was barefoot and dressed only in a yellow sundress. In the middle of winter. What kind of person would abandon their daughter? Now: Fifteen years later and Ally has a new family. But her real father has sent her a letter. And now Ally is missing.   A gripping twist-filled thriller that will have you looking over your shoulder. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and Teresa Driscoll.   Thanks to Sarah from Books on the Brightside Tours for the invite to the tour and copy of Keep Her Close by Erik Therme. Erik Therme is a new author me, so after reading the blurb I jumped at the chance for a copy of this new Psychological Thriller. 3 year old “Ally” is found abandoned in a car park, on her own, not far from a bleeding dead female body. Found by Dan and Holly, it’s soon discovered no one knows who this little girl is, or who she belongs to or why she is by this body. Fast forward 15 years and Ally, now adopted by Dan and Holly,  is now living with…

The Coop by E.C.Deacon
Books / June 14, 2019

                              When a woman staggers, naked from a river, she has no idea that she’s been saved from a killer by a text message from a dead woman. Laura Fell is horrified when she discovers of her friend Gina’s suicide. But when the autopsy reveals Gina died before her arrival at the house, she is perplexed. Who then answered her mobile phone? Everton Bowe, a cop whose career is as dead as his marriage, insists there was no-one else present.  But he’s wrong. Meanwhile, his ex-lover, DC Helen Lake, insists there are similarities between the traumatized river woman and the cold case of three missing women; the victims, she fears, of a serial killer. So, when a strange Dove’s feather, matching one found on the river victim, is found in Gina’s house, Everton and Helen are suspicious. If there was someone inside Gina’s house could he also be the river attacker? And could he also be responsible for the other missing women? At the same time, Laura Fell uncovers a web of deceit that stains the relationships around her and seems weirdly linked to Gina’s death, as…

The Missing Years by Lexie Elliott
Books / June 12, 2019

She thought she would never go back… Ailsa Calder has inherited half of a house. The other half belongs to a man who disappeared without a trace twenty-seven years ago. Her father. Leaving London behind to settle her mother’s estate, Ailsa returns to her childhood home nestled amongst the craggy peaks of the Scottish Highlands, accompanied by the half-sister she’s never taken the time to get to know. With the past threatening to swallow her whole, she can’t escape the claustrophobic feeling that the house itself is watching her. And when Ailsa confronts the first nighttime intruder, she sees that the manor’s careless rugged beauty could cost her everything   Review Thanks to Anne Cater at Random Things Tours and Corvus books for an ARC of the new book from Lexie Elliott. When Alison Calder a field producer for ITV inherits a house after her Mother’s death in the Scottish highlands, along with her half sister Carrie she arrives from London to to evaluate the property she’s not seen for more than 20 years.  The problem is she has only inherited half the house,  her father who has been missing for years,  still owns half. Once at the house, thing’s…