The Introvert by Michael Paul Michaud (The Introvert 1) #BlogTour
Books / September 9, 2019

A vacuum salesman by day, the introvert lives a quiet life alone with his dog until a work relationship and a dark secret from his past team up to create an uncomfortable imbalance in his otherwise ordered life, one that soon finds him squarely at the center of a murder investigation. With his thoughts continually urging him to make people “red and open” and to “achieve it” with his girlfriend Donna, what follows is a sometimes brutal, oftentimes hilarious, and absurdist account of the life of one very anti-social and unexpected anti-hero.   My Review Thanks to Sarah at Book on The Brightside Tours and Michael Paul Michaud for my e-copy of the very unique ‘The Introvert’. The Introvert in question, is a very quiet, slightly odd, socially awkward Vacuum salesman. We don’t ever learn his name.  He is the Introvert. Living alone with his dog Molly, he keeps himself to himself, and just seems to amble along. When a work colleague starts to show an interest and he starts a relationship , and a disagreement with his landlord follows, a very different ‘Introvert ‘ shows his colours. This isn’t a long read, it’s at times a little slow, but does pick…

A Litter of Bones by JD Kirk (DCI Logan 1)
Books / September 7, 2019

Was the biggest case of his career the worst mistake he ever made? Ten years ago, DCI Jack Logan stopped the serial child-killer dubbed ‘Mister Whisper,’ earning himself a commendation, a drinking problem, and a broken marriage in the process. Now, he spends his days working in Glasgow’s Major Investigations Team, and his nights reliving the horrors of what he saw. And what he did. When another child disappears a hundred miles north in the Highlands, Jack is sent to lead the investigation and bring the boy home. But as similarities between the two cases grow, could it be that Jack caught the wrong man all those years ago? And, if so, is the real Mister Whisper about to claim his fourth victim? A Litter of Bones is the explosive debut crime thriller novel from JD Kirk, an exciting new voice in Scottish crime fiction. Perfect for fans of L.J. Ross, Ian Rankin, Chris Brookmyre, and Stuart Macbride. ‘A phenomenal novel.’ – M.A. Comley   My Review Thanks to Sarah at Book on the Brightside Tours and JD Kirk for my e-copy of debut novel and the first in a new Scottish detective series introducing DCI Jack Logan, A Litter of Bones….

The Upper Hand by A.L. Fraine (DC O’Connell 1) #BlogTour
Books / August 30, 2019

  A murder with all the trappings of an occult sacrifice. It’s DC Kate O’Connell’s first case. Will it also be her last? Keen to prove herself to her superiors Kate fights to break through the lies that surround the victim’s life. But the ritualistic nature of the crime dredges up disturbing memories of a past tragedy. While wrestling with the demons of her past, Kate learns that her partner has a few skeletons in his own closet. His reputation threatens to taint the investigation and ruin her career before it starts. Kate must break the silence surrounding the victim to get to the truth before it’s too late, and the death toll rises. Join Kate as she descends into a murky world of murder and conspiracy in the English Home Counties, in a Thriller that bestseller J D Kirk describes as: “An exciting new voice in British Crime fiction.” Readers of J D Kirk, L J Ross, David Blake, and Daniel Cole, and fans of True Detective and Seven should enjoy The Upper Hand. My Review Thanks to Sarah Hardy at Book on The Brightside Tours for the invite to read this new debut thriller, The Upper Hand by…

The Fifth Grave by Rob Jones #BlogTour
Books / August 6, 2019

A stunning new crime thriller from #1 bestselling author Rob Jones. Poised to return to work after a long bereavement leave, Detective Chief Inspector Jacob is called away from the sanctuary of his home to attend the grim discovery of human remains over a quarter of a century old. Found deep in woodland with its own grim history, they give little up, but he is soon confronted with local gossip of hauntings and witches. The mystery deepens when a second person is murdered in the same woods, and Jacob soon realises he is hunting a killer who will stop at nothing to keep the darkest of secrets buried in the past. Working alongside Dr Sophie Anderson, a criminal psychologist with her own damaged past, they close the net until tragedy strikes again in this gripping romantic suspense thriller. Set in the wild and beautiful Wiltshire Downs, The Fifth Grave is a fast-paced whodunit with a dash of humour and romance and a killer twist. My Review Thanks to Sarah at Book on the Brightside Tours for my copy and invite to read the first in a new police procedural series, The Fifth Grave by Rob Jones, featuring DCI Tom Jacob….

Oh Henry by Morgen Bailey #BlogTour
Books / July 30, 2019

Set in Northamptonshire, England… Henry, a talking Jack Russell, is part of a small team researching a cure for Multiple Sclerosis. He is the target of several dognappers but can he use his wit or guile to outwit them and, with the help of forty-year-old laboratory assistant Gwynne Davies, find the proof needed to convict the criminals. Thus begins a series of adventures for the unlikely pair. There have been amateur sleuths, there have been talking animals – Henry is both. This is Family Guy’s Brian meets Poirot meets My Fair Lady. Tagline: Henry, a nineteen-month-old Jack Russell, has been given the ability to talk and now they can’t shut him up! Family Guy’s Brian with just as much attitude but better sleuthing skills. There have been amateur sleuths, there have been talking animals – Henry is both. ‘Oh, Henry’ may look like a young adult or children’s novel but the main human character is a woman in her early forties so a more general appeal. ‘For the young in all of us’. My Review  Thanks to Sarah at Book on the Brightside Tours and Morgen Bailey for my copy of the absolutely charming, Oh Henry! The first in the…