The Undoing of Arlo Knott by Heather Child #BlogTour #BristolBooks
Books / August 8, 2019

Arlo Knott discovers he has an unusual skill… He can reverse his last action – undo any mistake. But second chances aren’t all they’re cracked up to be. As wonderful as his new life is, an accident in Arlo’s traumatic childhood still haunts him and the temptation to undo, undo and keep undoing could be too much to resist. MY REVIEW Thanks to Tracy from Compulsive Reader tours and orbit books for My ARC of the great looking, Arlo Knott by Bristol based author Heather child, As well as being part of the blog this is another of that books that appealed due to the Bristol connections, Arlo is a young man, who after suffering a tragedy at a young age, discovers he has a gift , that he can step back in time just a moment or two , to correct mistakes he makes. Heather Child has written a tale with a quite intriguing and thought-provoking concept. What would you do if you could correct your mistakes? For me, Arlo comes across as quite self-centred and arrogant and at times uses his ‘power’ for self gain, in the main his gambling, and also some of his jobs , from…

The Holiday by T.M. Logan #BlogTour
Books / July 22, 2019

  For fans of Harlan Coben and Shari Lapena, and from the bestselling author of LIES take a holiday you won’t forget . . . Seven days. Three families. One killer. It was supposed to be the perfect holiday, dreamed up by Kate as the ideal way to turn 40: four best friends and their husbands and children in a luxurious villa under the blazing sunshine of Provence. But there is trouble in paradise. Kate suspects that her husband is having an affair, and that the other woman is one of her best friends. One of these women is willing to sacrifice years of friendship and destroy her family. But which one? As Kate closes in on the truth in the stifling Mediterranean heat, she realises too late that the stakes are far higher than she ever imagined.   Because someone in the villa is prepared to kill to keep their secret hidden.   My Review Thanks to Tracy at Compulsive readers and Zaffre Books for the invite to the blog tour and copy of T.M Logan’s new Thriller  The Holiday 4 old friends, along with their husbands and families decide to take a break in rural France to celebrate…

Know No Evil by Graeme Hampton #BlogTour
Books / July 6, 2019

My Review   Firstly Thanks to Tracy at Compulsive Readers Book Tours and Hera books for an eARC of a new crime series by Graeme Hampton, Know No Evil. London is sizzling in the summer heat when the body of a young woman is found brutally murdered in a London park. Newly fast tracked DI Matthew Denning picks up his first murder case. He starts the investigations alongside DS Deepak Neeraj, the man he beat to the job. At the same time DS Molly Fisher, who dreams of joining the MIT, is unofficially investigating the case of the “Bermondsey Ripper” a series of murders of young woman in the past. When Fisher starts to see possible links she takes them to Denning… This is an excellent debut novel, I was drawn in from the start. I like how the book is written , one chapter from each of the main protagonists conducting their individual investigations. It’s a strong, well plotted, first in the series, the pacing, whilst not super fast and in your face, feels right, the twists are clever and I genuinely didn’t guess the ending so it kept my interest until the end. There is quite a bit…

The River by Peter Heller #BlogTour
Books / June 6, 2019

Two friends… Wynn and Jack have been best friends since their first day of college, brought together by their shared love of literature and the great outdoors. The adventure of a lifetime… When they decide to take time off university and canoe down the Maskwa River in northern Canada, they anticipate the ultimate wilderness experience. No phones. No fellow travellers. No way of going back. A hellish ride… But as a raging wildfire starts to make its way towards them, their idyllic expedition becomes a desperate race for survival. And when a man suddenly appears, claiming his wife has vanished, the fight against nature’s destructive power becomes entangled with a much deadlier game of cat and mouse. THE RIVER by bestselling author Peter Heller is a gripping thriller about the beauty of the great outdoors and the dangers of the wild with a page-turning story that builds up to a shocking finale and keeps the reader guessing until the very end.   My Review Firstly thank you to Tracy at Compulsive Readers and W and N for inviting me to be part of this Blog Tour Jack and Wynn are old school friends making their way down the Maskwa River…

The Dangerous Kind by Deborah O’Connor #BlogTour
Books / May 27, 2019

  What if the people we trust are the one we should fear? We all recognise them. Those who sit just on the fringes of society. Who send prickles up the back of our necks. The Charmers. The Liars. The manipulators. Those who have the potential to go that one step too far. And then take another step. Jessamine Gooch makes a living from these people. Each Week she broadcasts a radio show looking into the past lives of convicted killers; asking if there was more that could have been done to prevent their terrible crimes. Then one day she is approached by a woman desperate to find her missing friend, Cassie, fearing her abusive husband may have taken that final deadly step. But as Jessamine delves into the months prior to Cassie’s disappearance she fails to realise there is a dark figure closer to home, one that threatens the safety of her own family… Set over a long, dark winter in London amd perfect for fans of He Said/She Said and Apple Tree Yard, THE DANGEROUS KIND is at once a complec and gripping thriller and a stunning portrayal of the monsters that live among us.     My…