The Coop by E.C.Deacon
Books / June 14, 2019

                              When a woman staggers, naked from a river, she has no idea that she’s been saved from a killer by a text message from a dead woman. Laura Fell is horrified when she discovers of her friend Gina’s suicide. But when the autopsy reveals Gina died before her arrival at the house, she is perplexed. Who then answered her mobile phone? Everton Bowe, a cop whose career is as dead as his marriage, insists there was no-one else present.  But he’s wrong. Meanwhile, his ex-lover, DC Helen Lake, insists there are similarities between the traumatized river woman and the cold case of three missing women; the victims, she fears, of a serial killer. So, when a strange Dove’s feather, matching one found on the river victim, is found in Gina’s house, Everton and Helen are suspicious. If there was someone inside Gina’s house could he also be the river attacker? And could he also be responsible for the other missing women? At the same time, Laura Fell uncovers a web of deceit that stains the relationships around her and seems weirdly linked to Gina’s death, as…

Drug Gang Vengeance by Neil Walker (Drug Gang Trilogy 2)
Books / June 11, 2019

Following on from the events of Drug Gang, http://www.alexjbooks.com/review/drug-gang-by-neil-walker-drug-gang-trilogy-1/  John Kennedy returns in the follow up, Drug Gang Vengeance. John is now living in Sydney, running a new drug gang and living with love of his life, Lisa, unbeknown to Lisa , John is still in the drug world in a big way, but he plans to get out soon. Unfortunately the past is about to return to haunt him. Savagely attacked by the returning Brotherhood, John and Lisa’s life in paradise is shattered. Returning first to Belfast , then Manchester, the scene of Book 1, John swears to get his final lasting vengeance and retribution on the new risen again Brotherhood, now ran by crazed Simon and the equally sadistic girlfriend Kate, a new member of the gang. As with the first book this is an absolute firecracker, it’s loud, brutal, offensive, explicitly violent and completely chaotic. Even more savage and sadistic than it’s predecessor this book delves more in to the drug trade and introduces some new characters aswell as some from the past you don’t expect. Action packed and rip roaringly paced, there’s a huge twist to come and shock you down to your boots. The scenes in…

Wolves at the Door by Gunnar Staalesen (Varg Veum)
Books / June 10, 2019

        ‘Gunnar Staalesen is one of my very favourite Scandinavian authors…this is a series with very sharp teeth’ Ian Rankin  ‘A Norwegian Chandler’ Jo Nesbo  ‘With its exploration of family dynamics and the complex web of human behaviour, Staalesen’s novel echoes the great California author Ross MacDonald’s Lew Archer mysteries … mature and captivating’ Herald Scotland ‘Norwegian master Staalesen is an author who eschews police procedural narratives for noirish private eye pieces … with some abrasive social commentary’ Financial Times     THE BOOK  One dark January night a car drives at high speed towards PI Varg Veum, and comes very close to killing him. Veum is certain this is no accident, following so soon after the deaths of two jailed men who were convicted for their participation in a case of child pornography and sexual assault … crimes that Veum himself once stood wrongly accused of committing. While the guilty men were apparently killed accidentally, Varg suspects that there is something more sinister at play … and that he’s on the death list of someone still at large. Fearing for his life, Veum begins to investigate the old case, interviewing the victims of abuse and delving…

Treble Clef by Malcolm Hollingdrake #BlogTour
Books / June 9, 2019

Harrogate attracts hundreds of players to the annual Games Convention and for one player it is the perfect opportunity to kill by the mechanics of his own sinister game. Each victim will die in the same way. Each will be classed as the loser and their time will have run out. The escape room and the game table will draw more, each believing they are invincible. However, in every game there is always a traitor waiting in the wings. The latest in the bestselling Harrogate Crime Series – discover your next favourite crime series now. Thanks to Caroline at Bits About Books for inviting me in the tour and providing me with an arc of this, the 8th in the Harrogate Crime series by Malcolm Hollingdrake My Review Set in Harrogate and the surrounding Yorkshire areas. DCI Cyril Bennett and his team begin investigating a murder.  An avid gamer found dead in his bed and breakfast, he was last seen at a convention playing a board game and spotted alive not far from his B and B, so how has he been murdered in his bed? With no evidence or sign of forced entry this is an intriguing case… As…

Savage Games by Peter Boland #BlogTour
Books / June 8, 2019

A body hidden in a tree. A forest full of dark secrets.  A man determined to find the truth… John Savage receives the shocking news that his friend has been found dead in bizarre circumstances. His body hidden in the branches of a towering fir tree in the New Forest. Savage vows to find out who is responsible. Together with brilliant computer hacker Tannaz, he discovers his friend was down on his luck, living among those who society would rather forget – the dregs, the desperate and the homeless. Entering this dark and dangerous world, Savage soon discovers that the death of his friend was just the tip of the iceberg… Savage Games is a bestselling, fast-paced action thriller for fans of James Patterson, Lee Child and David Baldacci. My Review Thanks to Sarah at Books on The Brightside Tours for the chance to read this real cracker from Peter Boland. This is the second of the Savage series by Peter Boland, I’ve not read the first John Savage but within the first quarter of this one I get an impression this is going to be a great series. John Savage, Nearing 60, Ex army,  teams up with Iranian computer hacker Tannaz, who he…