Dark Hollows by Steve Frech
Books / December 9, 2019

Jacob Reese enjoys the quiet life, running a coffee shop and renting out his cottage in The Hollows, Vermont. But the calm is shattered when a woman who looks eerily similar to his ex-girlfriend Laura turns up to stay in the cottage, and leaves a mysterious note in the guest book. Now Jacob’s seeing Laura everywhere—a glimpse of her face across the street, her music box left outside his house, a gift he gave her years before hanging from the trees. But it can’t be Laura. Because Laura’s dead. Someone knows Jacob’s secret—what really happened the night Laura died—and they’re out for revenge…   ›Review‹ Thanks to HQ for my e – Arc of this new psychological thriller, Dark Hollows , by Steve Frech. Jacob Reece is living the quiet , but good life. Owner of an up market coffee shop in the small town of Dark Hollows, he also rents out his up market cottage to well to do people, the money is rolling in and he’s happy, BUT Jacob has a secret… When Jacob lets his guard slip, and lets an un-vetted resident stay at his cottage, he suddenly opens a Pandora’s box. The reason he lets this…

Last Request by Liz Mistry (DS Nikki Parekh 1) #BlogTour
Books / October 14, 2019

When human remains are discovered under Bradford’s derelict Odeon car park, DS Nikita Parekh and her team are immediately called to the scene. Distracted by keeping her young nephew out of trouble, Nikki is relieved to learn the investigation has been transferred to the Cold Case Unit, and she can finally focus on her family.   But when the identity of the victim is revealed, she’s soon drawn back into the case. The dead man is a direct link to her painful past.   As the body count begins to rise, Nikki must do everything she can to stop the killer in their tracks before anyone else gets hurt – even if it means digging up secrets she had long kept hidden… MY REVIEW   Thanks to HQ Digital for my copy of the first in a new series by the excellent Liz Mistry. Introducing DS Nikki Parekh, a feisty new addition to the crime story scene. This is my 2nd book by Liz Mistry in recent times, I have just discovered the excellent Gus McGuire series. When Human remains are discovered underneath a Bradford car park, DS Nikki Parekh investigates, and its soon realised she has a direct link…

Cold Storage by David Koepp #BlogTour
Books / September 19, 2019

For readers of Andy Weir and Noah Hawley comes an astonishing debut by the screenwriter of Jurassic Park: a wild and terrifying adventure about three strangers who must work together to contain a highly contagious, deadly organism When Pentagon bioterror operative Roberto Diaz was sent to investigate a suspected biochemical attack, he found something far worse: a highly mutative organism capable of extinction-level destruction. He contained it and buried it in cold storage deep beneath a little-used military repository. Now, after decades of festering in a forgotten sub-basement, the specimen has found its way out and is on a lethal feeding frenzy. Only Diaz knows how to stop it. He races across the country to help two unwitting security guards—one an ex-con, the other a single mother. Over one harrowing night, the unlikely trio must figure out how to quarantine this horror again. All they have is luck, fearlessness, and a mordant sense of humor. Will that be enough to save all of humanity? My Review Thanks to Lily at HQ for my stunning copy of this new blockbuster type, end of the world thriller by Hollywood screenwriter David Koepp, Cold Storage  (thanks for the popcorn to!) Where to start with…

The Stranger Game by Peter Gadol #BlogTour
Books / September 3, 2019

Are you ready to play? ‘An enigmatic novel . . . a metaphysical thriller’ Edmund White ‘Like the best of Highsmith and Hitchcock rolled into one’ Marisa Silver Rebecca’s on-again, off-again boyfriend, Ezra, has gone missing, but when she notifies the police, they seem surprisingly unconcerned. They suspect he has been playing the ‘stranger game,’ a viral hit in which players start following others in real life, as they might otherwise do on social media. But as the game spreads, the rules begin to change, and disappearances are reported across the country. Curious about this popular new obsession, and hoping that she might track down Ezra, Rebecca tries the game for herself. She also meets Carey, who is willing to take the game further than she imagined possible. In playing the stranger game, what leads Rachel closer to finding Ezra will take her further and further from the life she once lived . . . A compulsive, inventive thriller for fans of The Girl Before, Little Deaths and The Book of Mirrors My Review Thanks to Isabel at HQ for my invite to the tour and ARC of the quite unique ‘ The Stranger Game’ by Peter Gadol. There seems…

Take it Back by Kia Abdullah #TakeItBack #BlogTour
Books / August 16, 2019

  The Victim: A sixteen-year-old girl with facial deformities, neglected by an alcoholic mother. Who accuses four boys of something unthinkable. The Defendants: Four handsome teenage boys from hardworking immigrant families. All with corroborating stories. Someone is lying. Former barrister Zara Kaleel, one of London’s brightest young legal minds, takes up Jodie Wolfe’s case; she believes her, even if those closest to Jodie do not. Jodie and Zara become the centre of the most explosive criminal trial of the year, in which ugly divisions within British society are exposed. As everything around Zara begins to unravel she becomes even more determined to get Jodie the justice she’s looking for. But at what price? My Review Thanks to Lucy Richardson at HQ for the invite to be part of the blog tour and for my copy of the stunning new legal thriller, Take it Back by Kia Abdullah. I have been hearing and seeing bits and pieces about the book on Social Media for a while now, so I was very pleased to get an invite to the tour and jumped at the chance at a review copy. What struck me first is the premise of the book, Jodie a disfigured…