Cold Storage by David Koepp #BlogTour
Books / September 19, 2019

For readers of Andy Weir and Noah Hawley comes an astonishing debut by the screenwriter of Jurassic Park: a wild and terrifying adventure about three strangers who must work together to contain a highly contagious, deadly organism When Pentagon bioterror operative Roberto Diaz was sent to investigate a suspected biochemical attack, he found something far worse: a highly mutative organism capable of extinction-level destruction. He contained it and buried it in cold storage deep beneath a little-used military repository. Now, after decades of festering in a forgotten sub-basement, the specimen has found its way out and is on a lethal feeding frenzy. Only Diaz knows how to stop it. He races across the country to help two unwitting security guards—one an ex-con, the other a single mother. Over one harrowing night, the unlikely trio must figure out how to quarantine this horror again. All they have is luck, fearlessness, and a mordant sense of humor. Will that be enough to save all of humanity? My Review Thanks to Lily at HQ for my stunning copy of this new blockbuster type, end of the world thriller by Hollywood screenwriter David Koepp, Cold Storage  (thanks for the popcorn to!) Where to start with…

Appetite For Risk by Jack Leavers #BlogTour
Books / September 17, 2019

A fast-paced action thriller inspired by real events in the aftermath of the Iraq War. With Saddam Hussein deposed and an entire country in need of rebuilding, former Royal Marine John Pierce hears the siren call of adventure and opportunity. His fledgling UK business is struggling to support his young family and he has connections in the Iraqi capital – fate seems to point one way. In early 2004, Pierce rolls the dice when he jumps into a taxi in Jordan and heads for the turmoil of postwar Baghdad to grab a share of the reconstruction gold rush. But when Iraq spirals into the hell of a full-blown insurgency, he must rely on his wits and his local friends if he’s to evade the rampant bloodshed. As the action rolls across the blood-stained Iraqi landscape and embraces London’s seedy underbelly, Pierce tangles with the authorities at home and finds himself thrust into the heart of British and American covert operations against Al-Qaeda in Iraq. Having set out with little more than ambitious goals and an appetite for risk, can a determined ex-bootneck survive the mounting chaos unscathed and succeed in hitting the jackpot?   My Review Thanks to Emma at…

The Bad Place by M.K.Hill (DI Sasha Dawson 1) #BlogTour
Books / September 16, 2019

The newspapers called it The Bad Place. A remote farm out on the Thames estuary, where six children were held captive for two weeks. Five of them got out alive.That was twenty years ago. Now adults, they meet upannually to hold a candlelit vigil for their friend who died. The only rule is that no-one can talk about what happened the night they escaped. But at this year’s event, one of them witnesses a kidnapping. A young girl, Sammi, is bundled into a van in front of their eyes.Is history repeating itself? Is one of them responsible? Or is someone sending them a twisted message?DI Sasha Dawson, of Essex Police, is certain that the key to finding Sammi lies in finding out the truth about The Bad Place. But she also knows that with every second she spends trying to unlock the past, the clock ticks down for the missing girl… My Review Thanks to Vicky at Head of Zeus for my e-arc of the new book by M.K. Hill, The Bad Place. Introducing DI Sasha Dawson, this is an excellent, polished start to a new police procedural series. 20+ years ago, 6 teenagers were kidnapped in their mini bus…

Trial By Battle by David Piper #IWM #BlogTour
Books / September 14, 2019

  Thanks to Anne at Random Things Tours and the IWM for my copy of the newly republished, Trial by battle by David Piper. Written in 1959 this book tells us about young second lieutenant Alan mart, as he is first stationed in India then onto Malay to fight the advancing Japanese. Alan by no means a fighting man is taken under the wing of Captain Sam Holl, a bad-tempered, foul-mouthed drunk, who plays a large part in the book and in turn making Alan the man he becomes. Telling the tale of his transformation, from a quiet student, to the man fighting for his life in jungle warfare. This a well written, uncomfortable story. Poignantly described, it’s a tragic tale that is sadly all very real, bringing home the true terror of War, it’s written from the authors own accounts of war. An incredible piece of fiction that fully deserves its republication and to reach a new audience once again. 5🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥 Trial by Battle by David Piper – A quietly shattering and searingly authentic depiction of the claustrophobia of jungle warfare in Malaya described by William Boyd as ‘A tremendous rediscovery of a brilliant novel. Extremely well-written, its effects…

Bloodline by Pamela Murray
Books / September 12, 2019

When a young boy discovers a man’s body lying in a doorway, DI Burton and DS Fielding are called to the scene.  Believing the man was homeless, the police are shocked to discover the true identity of the victim; a Detective Constable from London who was working undercover.  But when the DNA from the victim is linked to a cold case Burton and Fielding find themselves looking into another unsolved murder.  And as the case unfolds, the detectives are faced with unpicking through a web of lies and deceit. But can they solve the murders before any more blood is spilt?   My Review Thanks to Heather at Bloodhound books for my e-arc of Bloodline, no 2 in Pamela Murray’s series starting DI Joe Burton and DS Sally Fielding When a homeless man is found dead in a shop doorway in suspicious circumstances, Burton and Fielding investigate, soon it becomes apparent it was a murder, which escalates further when it’s discovered he was an under cover police officer looking into a gang trying to employ homeless people to carry out illegal tasks for them. Even more intriguingly, the DNA pops up showing the body is linked to a cold case 25…