Savage Games by Peter Boland #BlogTour

June 8, 2019
no-book-cover-available
Author:
Series:

A body hidden in a tree.
A forest full of dark secrets. 
A man determined to find the truth...
John Savage receives the shocking news that his friend has been found dead in bizarre circumstances. His body hidden in the branches of a towering fir tree in the New Forest. Savage vows to find out who is responsible.
Together with brilliant computer hacker Tannaz, he discovers his friend was down on his luck, living among those who society would rather forget - the dregs, the desperate and the homeless. Entering this dark and dangerous world, Savage soon discovers that the death of his friend was just the tip of the iceberg...
Savage Games is a bestselling, fast-paced action thriller for fans of James Patterson, Lee Child and David Baldacci.
My Review

Thanks to Sarah at Books on The Brightside Tours for the chance to read this real cracker from Peter Boland.

This is the second of the Savage series by Peter Boland, I’ve not read the first John Savage but within the first quarter of this one I get an impression this is going to be a great series.

John Savage, Nearing 60, Ex army,  teams up with Iranian computer hacker Tannaz, who he is training to be a fighting machine to go along with her already crazy computer skills. Together they investigate the death of an old school friend of John's, who has been found to have comitted suicide.  His son contacts Savage asking for help but tragedy strikes when the son is then found dead, again an apparent suicide.

This book hooked me in instantly, the writing is very easy to read.I raced through this book.

Savage and Tannaz are a great duo, the chemistry is fantastic, there is constant banter and it’s both funny and fits perfectly into the story. What I like is there is no romance, not a hint. Just a respect, almost father and daughter , the best of friend's who would do anything for each other . There is a line between them about a website called "goth's up trees" I was laughing out loud , you have to read it.

I really liked the character , Dink as well and I’d like to think he will be in the next book.

Locations are cool, I like the New Forest settings and feels quite atmospheric at times and they are described sublimely.

Fast paced, action packed, violent, chaotic, this is great stuff and I hope there is more John savage and Tannaz to come.

5 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥

Author Bio:

After studying to be an architect, Pete realised he wasn't very good at it. He liked designing buildings he just couldn't make them stand up, which is a bit of a handicap in an industry that likes to keep things upright. So he switched to advertising, writing ads for everything from cruise lines to zombie video games.

After becoming disillusioned with working in ad agencies, he switched to writing novels (or was it because he wanted to work at home in his pyjamas?). He soon realised there's no magic formula. You just have to put one word in front of the other (and keep doing that for about a year). It also helps if you can resist the lure of surfing, playing Nintendo Switch with his son, watching America's Next Top Model with his daughter and drinking beer in a garden chair.

Social Media Links:

One Comment

  • Sarah Hardy June 8, 2019 at 8:27 am

    Thanks so much for the great review and for being part of the blog tour today Alex x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this review: