Cold Storage by David Koepp #BlogTour
Books / September 19, 2019

For readers of Andy Weir and Noah Hawley comes an astonishing debut by the screenwriter of Jurassic Park: a wild and terrifying adventure about three strangers who must work together to contain a highly contagious, deadly organism When Pentagon bioterror operative Roberto Diaz was sent to investigate a suspected biochemical attack, he found something far worse: a highly mutative organism capable of extinction-level destruction. He contained it and buried it in cold storage deep beneath a little-used military repository. Now, after decades of festering in a forgotten sub-basement, the specimen has found its way out and is on a lethal feeding frenzy. Only Diaz knows how to stop it. He races across the country to help two unwitting security guards—one an ex-con, the other a single mother. Over one harrowing night, the unlikely trio must figure out how to quarantine this horror again. All they have is luck, fearlessness, and a mordant sense of humor. Will that be enough to save all of humanity? My Review Thanks to Lily at HQ for my stunning copy of this new blockbuster type, end of the world thriller by Hollywood screenwriter David Koepp, Cold Storage  (thanks for the popcorn to!) Where to start with…

Appetite For Risk by Jack Leavers #BlogTour
Books / September 17, 2019

A fast-paced action thriller inspired by real events in the aftermath of the Iraq War. With Saddam Hussein deposed and an entire country in need of rebuilding, former Royal Marine John Pierce hears the siren call of adventure and opportunity. His fledgling UK business is struggling to support his young family and he has connections in the Iraqi capital – fate seems to point one way. In early 2004, Pierce rolls the dice when he jumps into a taxi in Jordan and heads for the turmoil of postwar Baghdad to grab a share of the reconstruction gold rush. But when Iraq spirals into the hell of a full-blown insurgency, he must rely on his wits and his local friends if he’s to evade the rampant bloodshed. As the action rolls across the blood-stained Iraqi landscape and embraces London’s seedy underbelly, Pierce tangles with the authorities at home and finds himself thrust into the heart of British and American covert operations against Al-Qaeda in Iraq. Having set out with little more than ambitious goals and an appetite for risk, can a determined ex-bootneck survive the mounting chaos unscathed and succeed in hitting the jackpot?   My Review Thanks to Emma at…

Seventh by Lewis Hastings (The Seventh Wave Book 1)
Books / August 19, 2019

  Firstly my thanks to the Author, who goes by the pseudonym of Lewis Hastings, for my gifted copy of the first in his Seventh Wave Trilogy , Seventh. In this first book, we are introduced to John ‘Jack’ Cade, a seemingly off grid, ex British Police Officer amongst other things, now living the quiet life in New Zealand. Inexplicably drawn back in to his old life by Elena, a mysterious Bulgarian visitor,  who turns up seeking Jack out. A story ensues that takes us back to Jack’s earlier life and career, via Hong Kong and Nottingham on to the streets of London, as Jack battles with an Eastern European Crime Syndicate deeply rooted in financial crime and far ahead of its time , headed up by the evil ‘Jackdaw’ Whilst opening with a slower pace, Lewis Hastings soon launches us into a fast paced, riotous and chaotic tale, as Jack takes no prisoners in his quest, to both serve and protect. Introducing some fantastic characters, Carrie O’Shea and Jason Roberts in particular, Hastings writes both likeable but equally flawed characters, his characters feel very human, especially Jack himself – there is one character I hope to read again after his…

The Killing Gene by E.M Davey #BlogTour #BristolBooks
Books / August 7, 2019

A gripping historical thriller that shines a light on the darkness of human evolution. E.M. Davey’s latest novel is a heart-racing adventure into the dark heart of human origins. When a young archaeologist goes missing in the Congo basin, Professor Randolph Harkness and troubled tearaway Ross McCartney go in search of her only to stumble upon a conspiracy to conceal ancient horrors lost to the passage of time. Evading spies and trained killers, can they expose this cover-up in time or will they be buried with it? An unputdownable thriller The Killing Gene reveals the story of our species, the paradox of the modern mind and our innate predilection for murder…     MY REVIEW   Firstly, Thanks to the guys at Duckworth Books for my copy of the new thriller by E.M. Davey, The Killing Gene. I coincidentally came across Ed Davey about the same time the publisher asked me if I would like to take part in the tour, through those conversations with Ed on Twitter, I discovered , like me he is from Bristol, so I was more than pleasantly surprised to find from the outset this book is based in Bristol, and features the intrepid Professor…

Oh Henry by Morgen Bailey #BlogTour
Books / July 30, 2019

Set in Northamptonshire, England… Henry, a talking Jack Russell, is part of a small team researching a cure for Multiple Sclerosis. He is the target of several dognappers but can he use his wit or guile to outwit them and, with the help of forty-year-old laboratory assistant Gwynne Davies, find the proof needed to convict the criminals. Thus begins a series of adventures for the unlikely pair. There have been amateur sleuths, there have been talking animals – Henry is both. This is Family Guy’s Brian meets Poirot meets My Fair Lady. Tagline: Henry, a nineteen-month-old Jack Russell, has been given the ability to talk and now they can’t shut him up! Family Guy’s Brian with just as much attitude but better sleuthing skills. There have been amateur sleuths, there have been talking animals – Henry is both. ‘Oh, Henry’ may look like a young adult or children’s novel but the main human character is a woman in her early forties so a more general appeal. ‘For the young in all of us’. My Review  Thanks to Sarah at Book on the Brightside Tours and Morgen Bailey for my copy of the absolutely charming, Oh Henry! The first in the…