Highest Lives by Gordon Brown (Craig McIntyre 4) #BlogTour
Books / November 16, 2019

In cities across North America people are dying in seemingly impossible ways. Is history s most outrageous serial killer on the loose? When LAPD Detective Sarah Tracy is secretly instructed to recruit Craig McIntyre to help her investigate the deaths, she is unaware that his mere presence can transform people s darkest thoughts into action. As Sarah and Craig hunt the murky underbelly of LA for the malevolent figure responsible for the bizarre deaths, they stumble upon the most expensive narcotic ever to hit the streets – a substance that promises something so unbelievable that users are willing to risk death to experience it. With government black ops agency head Senator Tampoline always lurking in the shadows, Craig is used to being hunted. Now he is the hunter. And thousands could die if he fails to track down the killer. REVIEW   Thanks to Random Things Tours and Gordon Brown for my copy of the 4th in the Craig McIntyre series, ‘Highest Lives’. Having very recently read no 1 in the series I was looking forward to picking this one up and getting started even though I have yet to read 2 and 3 ( I will be though). Firstly…

Darkest Thoughts by Gordon Brown (Craig McIntyre 1)
Books / November 11, 2019

Craig McIntyre’s mere presence can turn people’s darkest thoughts into action. On an Iraqi street, Craig McIntyre finds himself at the center of an event that leaves several people dead. Ex-military, now a bodyguard, he has no idea how they died. Others think he is repsonsible – the catalyst. They have no issue with that. Indeed, they are intent on harnessing Craig’s dark talent for creating chaos where once there was order…and will let no-one stand in their way. Who are McIntyre’s pursuers? What do they see in him that he cannot see in himself? And what will happen to him if he is caught? Worse, what will happen to those closest to him if he escapes? As he struggles to come to terms with events, and with the possibility that he really is a vehicle for anarchy, can he stop his darkest thoughts turning to revenge   ›REVIEW‹ After recently being invited onto a blog tour for the 4th book in the Craig McIntyre series by Gordon Brown, I thought this would be a good time to start the series! So I went ahead and picked myself up a copy of ‘ Darkest Thoughts’…. and im pleased to say…

The Lost Ten by Harry Sidebottom #BlogTour
Books / October 30, 2019

A desperate rescue attempt deep behind enemy lines . . . this nail-biting adventure has all the hard-edged appeal of the Bravo Two Zero mission. When Valens, a junior officer in the Roman Army, joins a crack squad of soldiers on a dangerous mission, little does he know what’s in store for him. Tasked with rescuing the young Prince Sasan, who has been imprisoned in the impenetrable Castle of Silence, the troops set out across Mesopotamia and into the mountains south of the Caspian Sea. Deep in hostile territory, inexperienced Valens finds himself in charge. And as one by one his soldiers die or disappear, he begins to suspect that there is a traitor in their midst, and that the rescue is fast becoming a suicide mission. Valens must marshal this disparate group of men and earn their respect, before it’s too late . . .   MY REVIEW Thanks to Tracy at Compulsive Readers and Zaffre books for my copy of this standalone thriller based in the Roman Era, The Lost Ten by Harry Sidebottom Having never read this author before i was taken in by the blurb and of mentions of a ‘Roman Jack Reacher’, Who wouldn’t want…

Parasites by Matthew Samuels
Books / October 24, 2019

Parasites is a YA science fiction, solarpunk exploration novel that takes place at the end of the universe, just as it slowly starts to contract in the ‘big crunch’. On the planet Lyra, humans evolved late, on a resource-poor world, in a resource-poor solar system. The Lyrans master space flight, only to discover that their nearest worlds have also been stripped of resources. The population begins to decline, until a scientist discovers a technology allowing people and vehicles to travel through ‘thinnings’ – patches of space linking universes. Kael and Alessia are explorers, charting where the thinnings go and bringing valuable resources back to Lyra, trying desperately to extend the lifespan of their home world. Alessia’s father, Ben, set out two years ago to uncover another species’ reference to a ‘solution’ to the big crunch problem – but never returned. A chance discovery leads Kael and Alessia to a clue, prompting another expedition to see if they can avoid the mistakes of the past and help to unravel the mystery. Kael, Alessia and their gruff bodyguard Basteel retrace Ben’s steps, seeking closure for Alessia, a solution for Lyra and together begin a voyage through wild, weird and wonderful planets My…

Cold Storage by David Koepp #BlogTour
Books / September 19, 2019

For readers of Andy Weir and Noah Hawley comes an astonishing debut by the screenwriter of Jurassic Park: a wild and terrifying adventure about three strangers who must work together to contain a highly contagious, deadly organism When Pentagon bioterror operative Roberto Diaz was sent to investigate a suspected biochemical attack, he found something far worse: a highly mutative organism capable of extinction-level destruction. He contained it and buried it in cold storage deep beneath a little-used military repository. Now, after decades of festering in a forgotten sub-basement, the specimen has found its way out and is on a lethal feeding frenzy. Only Diaz knows how to stop it. He races across the country to help two unwitting security guards—one an ex-con, the other a single mother. Over one harrowing night, the unlikely trio must figure out how to quarantine this horror again. All they have is luck, fearlessness, and a mordant sense of humor. Will that be enough to save all of humanity? My Review Thanks to Lily at HQ for my stunning copy of this new blockbuster type, end of the world thriller by Hollywood screenwriter David Koepp, Cold Storage  (thanks for the popcorn to!) Where to start with…