The Girl in White by John Nicholl #BlogBlitz
Books / September 6, 2019

    Harry Gilmore has no idea of the terrible danger he faces when he meets a beautiful girl in a local student bar. Drugged and abducted, Harry wakes up in a secure wooden compound deep in the Welsh countryside, where he is groomed by the leaders of a manipulative cult, run by the self-proclaimed new messiah, known as The Master.  When the true nature of the cult becomes apparent, Harry looks for any opportunity to escape. But as time passes he questions if the master’s extreme behaviour and teachings are the one true religion.  With Harry’s life hanging by a thread, a team of officers, led by Detective Inspector Laura Kesey, investigate his disappearance. But will they find him before it’s too late?    My Review   Thanks to Heather at Bloodhound Books for my e-arc of this extremely chilling new psychological thriller from John Nicholl, The Girl in White. Even though I have all of the authors books on my kindle in the never-ending ‘to be read’ pile, this is the first time I’ve read a John Nicholl book, what was I waiting or. It’s very very good, thought-provoking stuff! Harry Gilmore, down on his luck, near penniless…

Three by Emma-Nicole Lewis
Books / August 27, 2019

    Thank you to Emma-Nicole Lewis for my gifted copy of her new chilling Novel ‘ Three’ in exchange for an impartial honest review. 30 years ago,  on New Year’s Eve, Annabelle Montague was murdered in her home, Hillcrest House, by her husband, Sir Edward, Who was then convicted and sentenced to prison in a maximum security unit for the criminally insane. Now in the present day, returned to the scene of the crime by his Doctor, for experimental treatment, Sir Edward’s care whilst staying back at Hillcrest is overseen by Suzi and Jake, two clinical professionals. The story is told by the three temporary inhabitants of Hillcrest house, a tale of murder, love, ghosts, black magic, and more.. The characters are well-defined, particularly the insane, Sir Edward. Though this is my first book by this author it’s very easy to see that she has a deft touch in writing the macabre. A dark, suspenseful, gothic and atmospheric story, the writing is excellent, the frights are described well, whilst the bringing together of the 3 voices telling their story is accomplished with aplomb, as the story ends with an extremely enjoyable yet evil end. Supernatural twists and scares executed brilliantly , ‘Three’ is an intriguing,…

Gone by Leona Deakin #BlogTour
Books / August 12, 2019

  Four strangers are missing. Left at their last-known locations are birthday cards that read: YOUR GIFT IS THE GAME DARE TO PLAY? The police aren’t worried – it’s just a game. But the families are frantic, and psychologist and private detective Dr Augusta Bloom is persuaded to investigate. As she delves into the lives of the missing people, she finds something that binds them all. And that something makes them very dangerous indeed. As more disappearances are reported and new birthday cards uncovered, Dr Bloom races to unravel the mystery and find the puppeteer. But is she playing into their hands? An addictive debut thriller with an ingenious hook that turns the missing person plot on its head – what if the missing people are the dangerous ones? MY REVIEW Thanks to Anne Cater at Random Things Tours and Transworld books for my copy of the debut by Leona Deakin, Gone. Introducing Dr Augusta Bloom and her business partner Marcus Jameson in a chilling psychological thriller. What starts out as a missing person case, when Marcus is asked by his sister to look into her friends strange disappearance suddenly becomes something much more with the discovery of a game…

Riverflow by Alison Layland #BlogTour
Books / July 22, 2019

After a beloved family member is drowned in a devastating flood, Bede and Elin Sherwell want nothing more than to be left in peace to pursue their off-grid life. But when the very real prospect of fracking hits their village, they are drawn in to the frontline protests. During a spring of relentless rain, a series of mysterious threats and suspicious accidents put friendships on the line and the Sherwells’ marriage under unbearable tension. Is there a connection with their uncle’s death? As the river rises under torrential rain, pressure mounts, Bede’s sense of self begins to crumble and Elin is no longer sure who to believe or what to believe in. Thanks to Emma at damp pebbles tours and Honno Press for my copy and invite to the blog tour for this terrific new thriller from Alison Layland, Riverflow, Today I’ve got a bit of Q and A with Alison Layland for you.. First of all, can you please tell us about your latest book: Riverflow is a novel of village tensions, environmental protests and family secrets, played out against a background of fracking and floods on the river Severn. Where do you find inspiration for your novels? My characters…

Keep Her Close by Erik Therme #BlogTour
Books / June 19, 2019

Then: Three-year-old Ally was found alone in a parking lot. She was barefoot and dressed only in a yellow sundress. In the middle of winter. What kind of person would abandon their daughter? Now: Fifteen years later and Ally has a new family. But her real father has sent her a letter. And now Ally is missing.   A gripping twist-filled thriller that will have you looking over your shoulder. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and Teresa Driscoll.   Thanks to Sarah from Books on the Brightside Tours for the invite to the tour and copy of Keep Her Close by Erik Therme. Erik Therme is a new author me, so after reading the blurb I jumped at the chance for a copy of this new Psychological Thriller. 3 year old “Ally” is found abandoned in a car park, on her own, not far from a bleeding dead female body. Found by Dan and Holly, it’s soon discovered no one knows who this little girl is, or who she belongs to or why she is by this body. Fast forward 15 years and Ally, now adopted by Dan and Holly,  is now living with…